Menu Close

RTDNF Honors KARE 11’s Boyd Huppert with Lifetime Achievement Award

Boyd Huppert

The Radio Television Digital News Foundation honors journalists every year who stand for the “values of the First Amendment.”

GOLDEN VALLEY, Minn. — KARE 11 reporter Boyd Huppert is receiving more national recognition for his work in journalism with a Lifetime Achievement Award at the 2023 RTDNF First Amendment Awards.

The annual awards, presented by the RTDNF (Radio Television Digital News Foundation), recognize a select group of journalists “who stood for the values of the First Amendment.”

The award is the latest honor for Boyd Huppert in a nearly four-decade career in television news. After starting his career in Wausau, Omaha and Milwaukee, Boyd has spent the past 26 years at KARE 11, where he produces his weekly signature storytelling segment, “Land of 10,000 Stories.” Boyd also helps inspire the next generation of journalists as the National Storytelling Coach for KARE’s parent company, TEGNA, and also leads the Advanced Storytelling Workshop with the National Press Photographer’s Association.

“We are so proud and grateful to have Boyd in the TEGNA family and congratulate him for this recognition that honors all he’s contributed to our industry,” said Lynn Beall, EVP and COO, Media Operations for TEGNA. “Boyd personifies everything that is great about local journalism. He’s taught and inspired journalists for decades and for any student studying journalism today, Boyd’s passion for video storytelling is infectious and inspirational.”

“Every week, Minnesotans are inspired by Boyd’s masterful ability to discover the incredible in the everyday,” said Bill Dallman, president and general manager of KARE. “All of us at KARE 11 are very proud to see Boyd’s lifetime of work honored by RTDNF and the First Amendment Awards. Boyd’s storytelling also lives on because he shares those skills with his colleagues and countless other journalists across the country. RTDNF could not have chosen a more worthy, dedicated and humble recipient.”

Boyd’s work has been recognized by colleagues across the country, winning 22 National Edward R. Murrow Awards and a national Emmy award, along with honors from the National Headliner Awards, Sigma Delta Chi Awards, the Scripps Howard Award, and dozens of regional Murrow and Emmy Awards. He was inducted into the Emmy Silver Circle in 2016.

Boyd and the other 2023 First Amendment Awards honorees will be recognized during a ceremony on March 2 in Washington, DC.

This story, video, and photo are courtesy of KARE 11.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *